Skip to main content

Copa Shorts Film Fest


COPA SHORTS FILM FEST just presented the talent of many filmmakers and screenwriters on February 17-19, 2017 at UltraStar Multi-tainment Cent at Ak-Chin Circle.  Our first-time festival event excited people!

We heard comments like – “This is the best film festival I’ve EVER been to.”

We’re proud and pleased that many filmmakers and the 4 screenwriters were on site to see their shorts films and hear their screenplays voiced for the first time.

And, we know you’ve been waiting to hear the winners’ names –  so without any further suspense – HERE THEY ARE:

Category winners –

Best in Animation – Stuck in Time

Best Comedy – Belly Flop

Best Documentary – Mother Tongue

Best Drama – Driver’s Ed

Best Foreign Film – Proverbial Luck

Best Horror – Chateau Sauvignon: terroir

Best Sci-fi – West Side Swordy

Honorable Mention – Focus



A King’s Betrayal

Awarded Write Brothers’ Outline 4-D


Ak-Chin Indian Community award winners: 

Student Showcase 

Winner – The Thunderbird Over the Whale

Wins an Ak-Chin Award plus Jungle Software’s Chimpanzee software


Screenplay Table Read –

Runner-up –  Floating

Wins Write Brothers – Dramatica Pro screenwriting software


Winner – Kitsune Mask

Wins an Ak-Chin award plus Write Brothers’ Movie Magic Screenwriter screenplay software


Native American Film

Winner – Iroquois Creation Story

Wins an Ak-Chin award plus Jungle Software’s Chimpanzee film software 




An Ak-Chin Award, Jungle Software’s Gorilla Combo film scheduling and budgeting software, and complimentary consultation from Entertainment Attorney Stephen Wade Nebgen.


More announcements soon!

And, put Copa Shorts Film Fest on your calendar for next year – February 16-18th, 2018!

We’ll be accepting submissions for next year’s festival at starting in mid-May, 2017.  Get your projects ready!!!



The talented filmmakers and screenwriters shown at the festival  on February 17-19, 2017 at UltraStar Multi-tainment Center at Ak-Chin Circle in Maricopa, Arizona are in our program.

We chose films from the USA, Norway, Italy, China, France, Canada, Australia, Sweden, Spain, and even Papua New Guinea!

Click the icon above to see all of the great short films and screenplays that we could fit in two days!



Please consider donating to our film festival!

GO TO “Donate to Copa Shorts Film Fest” => on right.

It takes the support of many people to make a film festival run. And, what do you get for that generosity?

An opportunity to do good –

  • Maybe give a troubled youth a productive new path
  • Provide an inspired filmmaker a chance to be recognized and launch a career
  • Give a forum for a fledging screenwriter to have his/her work seen and heard
  • Draw a community together to develop…
  • An Excellent Event

And a tax deduction because we’re a 501(c)(3) not-for -profit where your contributions are tax deductible to the fullest extent of the IRS laws.

Please be generous!  We need donations to provide the budget to allow us to continue our year round programming including workshops for community members and students.

Copa Shorts Film Fest, Inc. is an IRS designated 501(c)(3) organization.



Logo design by Taylor Lynn Slaughter


Website layout by Elliot Johnson